DSH Adult Drivers Education Course

It is never too late to learn to drive or gather the experience and training necessary to become a better driver.

The 6-hour driver education program is mandatory by the DPS for anyone 18 to 24 years of age to obtain a driver's license in the state of Texas. For adults 25 years and older it is NOT MANDATORY but it is recommended as in this course you will learn the new traffic laws.

Benefits of taking the course with DSH:

  • Friendly classes with trained instructors who can answer all the concerns or doubts you have about traffic laws, face to face.
  • 96% of our students pass the rules and signs exam on the first try but if they do not pass it they can take it as many times as they need until they approve without extra cost vs DPS that only gives you 3 chances and then you have to pay again .
  • You can also take the driving test with us and avoid the long wait with the DPS.
  • For the peace of mind of our Hispanic students we offer classes taught completely in Spanish.

Are you 18 or over and never had a Texas driver license? You need to complete adult driver ed to apply for your license. If you're 25 or over, adult driver ed is optional but highly recommended for first-time and newer drivers. Adult drivers ed is the convenient and effective way for drivers 18 and older to learn traffic rules and safety for the first time—or the second!

Program includes:

  • 6 hours driving education.
  • Knowledge test: driving rules and road signs.
  • Every Friday from 9am to 3pm: Classes taught in Spanish.
  • Every Saturdays from 9am to 3pm: Classes taught in English (only 2 Saturdays by month, call for availabililty).
1 Driving Class
5 Driving Classes
15 Driving Classes
10 Driving Classes

Once the class is completed and the driving rules and road signs tests have been approved, the student will receive an ADE-1317 certificate that students will take together with any extra documentation to the nearest DPS, with which they will obtain the learning license.

Documentation required:

NOTE:

  • The cost of the driving classes does not include the 6 hours class or the road test.
  • Check list of necessary documents on the dps page .
  • The learners' license has a restriction (B) which means that driver must drive with an adult of 21 years or older who has a driving license. He/she must be sitting in the passenger front seat.

You can now take the dps road test with DSH!!!

6 hours class
$100
6 hours class + Road Test
$175

Adult requirements (Age: 18+)

  • A valid Texas Learner License/B-restricted Driver’s License (only for adults from 18 to 24)
  • Certificate of completion from the Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD) video, dated within 90 days of the road test
When the driving test is approved the student must take the results of the road test to the DPS office so that the restriction is removed from the license.